Walk back along Melmore Road toward the top of the lagoon trail, but this time follow the road around to the right. Continue along the road to the ‘T’ junction. Turn left towards the main road, which is Miller Road. Turn left here onto Miller Road, and follow the sidewalk to the bridge. Based on 1937 map.
The Japanese Bridge
Continue a short way into the park, looking for the Bridal Veil Falls signage on your left. From viewpoints here you can see the cascade waterfall and on the north side, the salmon fishway. The intrepid can explore more closely by descending the wooden steps.
Around 1914 the Terminal Steamship Company works foreman, Mr Koga and his crew built the graceful Japanese style bridge that spanned Killarney Creek at the top of the falls. Known locally as the Humpty Bridge, it connected with the Bridle Path, rustic, cedar rail-lined walkway that ran along-side the creek to the outlet of Deep Bay.
Further down the creek, the Lagoon Bridge crossed over to the No. 3 Picnic Grounds. Look for the footings of past bridges above and below the falls.
The Duck Pond and Bridge
The Duck Pond was formed when Killarney Creek was dammed to supply water for the powerhouse in the early 1900’s. Captain Cates made scale models of his steamships and floated them on the pond to the delight of local children. In 1925, a new wooden bridge, known as the Duck Pond Bridge, provided the first sturdy and convenient crossing at this site.
The Old Powerhouse
On the north side of the lower creek (not visible from this location) the concrete footings of the old powerhouse can be seen. Killarney Creek was dammed above picturesque Bridal Veil Falls in Captain Cates’ time to supply water for a hydroelectric generator. Its supply, however, was limited. During the Union Steamships era, each evening an employee turned a wheel that allowed water to flow into the generator. For a few hours, cottagers had a light in the living room and could listen to evening radio programmes. The gently lit promenade along the Causeway provided pleasant evening strolling. At 11:00 p.m. the process was reversed and the power was turned off for the night.
The Alder Grove Trail
Continue down Miller Road to the Crippen Park trail head on the left and enter the park here. This is the top of the old Alder Grove Trail.
At one time, charming summer cottages lined the many trails in this area. The paths were named Spruce Crescent, Hemlock Hill, Alder Grove and Alder Trail. The forest bustled with happy sounds and movement of the happy vacationers who passed delightful days on Bowen. Children explore the woods and streams, played games, fished and swam.