Above: the Higgins Cabin before the renovation. It’s now as good as new.
The Higgins Cabin
Built by logger Bert Higgins, this cabin sits on its original site. Now Higgins cabin is a permanent two-room display. Looking into the bedroom, visitors can see how Bert might have lived as a logger in 1948. The refrigerator and cook stove are both powered by kerosene, as was common before electricity came into general use on Bowen.
In the kitchen, you can see the collection of logger’s tools commonly used on Bowen Island, from an early wood-framed bow saw to a 1950s chainsaw.
Also on display is the history of Higgins Cabin itself, from the land that was once owned by Union Estates to its development by Bert Higgins and the eventual renovation and restoration by the Bowen Island Historians.
Visit the Museum and Archives website to see open hours and contact details. The website also features a large searchable database of historic photos, articles, audio and beautiful renderings of old photos by Bowen artist Ron Woodall.
Next stop ->